My Favorite Fleeks

I love a good list – I’m tempted to list the reasons why I love a list right now. So for my first dip in the Fleek Week pool, I decided to go for a list of my favorite beauty products. These are the things I need on a semi-daily basis to keep myself feeling put together and ready to conquer the world, aka my favorite fleeks.

Lush’s Big Shampoo – $26.95, 11.4 oz
This delicious sea salt shampoo is my everything. I started using it years ago, before Lush stores graced our U.S. shores, and I’ve been faithful ever since. I don’t wash my hair everyday <don’t judge, Judy!> so I need a shampoo that will give me super clean hair without being heavy and greasy OR super drying. Big delivers on every level – it smells divine, literally leaves my hair squeaky clean without drying it out, and allows me a couple of days of soft and shiny (unwashed) hair. If you’re not familiar with Big, don’t let its texture freak you out. It comes in a pot, not a squeeze bottle, and looks like a sea salt scrub you’d use on your body. Just scoop out a little bit and work it into wet hair, you will be rewarded with the thickest, most luscious lather you’ve ever seen on your noggin.

Egyptian Magic – $26 to $39, 2 & 4 oz.
I learned of this magic potion in some magazine ages ago, in an article about what every French girl has in her medicine cabinet. “Egyptian Magic is made of Honey, Beeswax, Olive Oil, Royal Jelly, Bee Pollen and Bee Propolis. Our unique process combines these six simple ingredients to create a moisturizing balm unlike any other. That’s it. No additives, preservatives, fragrances, chemicals or parabens.” It’s an all-purpose balm that can be used as a moisturizer, to treat cuts & scrapes, on burns (heat & sun), to help with eczema and psoriasis, lip balm, natural hair conditioner, after shave, and as a vaginal moisturizer and lubricant (oh, my). I use it as a night time moisturizer, lip balm, and to spot treat some pesky eczema outbreaks. I’ve never used it in my hair or on my lady bits, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t curious to try both. Look out, fellas. The company offers you a money back guarantee if you aren’t bowled over, as long as you purchase it through their site. It’s available from other retailers, but watch out because there have been reports of counterfeit magic being sold on Amazon from sellers in China.

Soapwalla Deodorant – $14, 2 oz.
I have sung Soapwalla’s praises before, and I will continue to do so! My friend Marie introduced me to Soapwalla when she did a write up about various deodorants, which was right about the time I was looking into more natural alternatives. Soapwalla is the shit, guys. It’s made from real, non-scary ingredients, smells good, keeps me from stinking up the world, and best of all….. dries totally clear and doesn’t stain my gothic bruja clothes with tell-tale white deodorant streaks. Yes, it’s more expensive than that stick of Secret or Teen Spirit, but you really do get what you pay for. It’s a much higher quality product and that 2 ounce jar will last a looooong time!

Spiral black cotton swabs – $1.50/pack, $33.50 box of 20
You know when people say they want to “go to their happy place”? They’re talking about Daiso Japan. I saw these black cotton swabs and it was like a choir or dark angels sang out to me. I also dropped them all over the bathroom floor and into the toilet by mistake, but whatever… another dose of happiness was only $1.50 away.

Orofluido Beauty Elixir – $29.99, 3.4 oz
I got a sample of Orofluido from Birchbox a few years ago, and it took me months to try it. Why was I so scared? I don’t know, I don’t always make good choices. But once I stopped being a dumb bunny and tried it, my whole life changed. I’d never used any sort of oil or elixir in my hair, but what the fleek was I waiting for?! It’s delicious! It left my hair so soft and shiny, and the smell…. it’s out of the world! The only problem is that it’s actually been difficult to find lately, and I blame Gwyneth Paltrow! She wrote about it being one of her must have beauty products and suddenly it started flying off shelves.

Kat Von D Studded Kiss Lipstick (Cathedral) – $21
Although I remain obsessed with the perfect shade of red, KVD’s Cathedral has been my favorite shade for quite a while. It’s described as “matte coco rose”, and it’s the perfect nude shade for this girl. I’m obviously not the only one who thinks so, since it’s currently sold out in stores and online. There was so much hype when the Studded Kiss line came out I wondered if it was warranted, but the matte finish is perfection and I am a devoted believer now.

Daiso masks – $1.50/pk or $20.16 box of 12
I just can’t stay away from Daiso. My mother ship, Sephora, has a bunch of beauty masks in brightly colored packs for $5 a pop… but Daiso has them for $1.50! There are assorted face and hand masks, and I love em all.

PCA Aprés Peel Hydrating Balm – $36 1.7 oz
The one item you’ll have to pry from my cold, dead hands is PCA’s Aprés Peel Hydrating Balm – my face cannot survive without it. It’s a super light moisturizer that helps to minimize Father Time’s footprints all over your beautiful face. It’s also a dream against that pesky eczema flakiness/redness that occasionally makes a guest appearance on my face. And it smells sooooo good! It’s sweet, sort of like apricots.

Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey – $16
Do you remember when your mom finally started letting you wear lipstick from the mall?! No more Wet & Wild, you were finally a given access to the good stuff. Black Honey was the perfect compromise, you got fancy mall lipstick in a silver tube but didn’t look like damn clown. I still love this tried and true classic for those days when I need a little color on my lips, but I’m not wanting to commit to actual lipstick.

L’Oreal True Match pressed powder – $10.95
I know I’m not alone in the struggle to find the right shade of powder, but I have been true to L’Oreal True Match powder for years. I use W3 – nude beige, and it’s spot on for medium(ish) olive tone. I’m darker than light, but lighter than dark and rarely find a powder match I’m really happy with. L’oreal serves up 33 shades, so prepare to meet your match.

the shade of it all

One thought on “My Favorite Fleeks

Leave a Reply

