Black Magic

BLACK

It’s the season of the witch, time to get spooky! Roughly 75% of my wardrobe is black, so it should come as no surprise that even my beauty regime tends to lean towards the dark side. Don’t let the black scare you off, these aren’t just gimmicky, Halloween items – they’re real products that are spectacular!

black+malva
Aveda Black Malva Shampoo & Conditioner
Aveda’s Pure Plant collection is pretty amazing. I’ve been using this stuff since high school and am still a loyal fan. Black Malva is made especially for dark hair – it keeps red or brassy tones out of your hair, and lets your dark, cool shades shine through. I love that my hair is so dark and have never wanted to lighten it or add red tones, if you’re a fan of purer dark tones you’ll love Black Malva. There are five different options in the Pure Plant collection – Black Malva (black hair), Blue Malva (blonde/grey), Camomile (to brighten blonde highlights), Clove (brown hair), and Madder Root (red/auburn hair).

Soap Walla Charcoal
Charcoal Soap
Charcoal is another dark and lovely ingredient that can work its black magic on your skin. Activated charcoal can draw out dirt and muck from your pores, leaving you with super clean skin. You can use if for your face, or for your whole body – just don’t forget to do your best Buffalo Bill Silence of the Lambs voice while you lather up. The first charcoal soap I ever tried was Shea Moisture, which is available at drugstores (I got mine at Target). But there are so many out there now! Here are some others I’ve tried and are on my to-try list: Coal Face from Lush, Soapwalla’s Charcoal Soap (pictured above), and Sisters of the Black Moon’s Charcoal Sandalwood soap.

Origins introduced me to the world of charcoal years ago, and I still love their Clear Improvement Charcoal Mask. I use it a couple of times a month, and follow their recommendation to use a warm towel on my face right before applying the mask. The warmth will open up your pores and help the charcoal draw out the ick that got all up in your face. They’ve also come out with the mask in pod form, portioned out in single use serving sizes. If you really want to splurge, you can try Peter Thomas Roth’s Irish Moor Mud Purifying Black Mask for $58 a jar. But if you want to have some interactive mask fun you can try Boscia’s Luminizing Black Mask (it’s what I’ve got all over my nose in the photo above), this is a peel off mask that is kind of gross but a lot of fun to use.

look-large-flatte_1
For me there are only two manicure options, shiny black or matte black.  I love Karen O’s Flatte Black, a black-black-black no-shine polish that comes in a beautiful bottle. They also make a Flatte Top top coat that protects your polish while keeping the color matte. If black isn’t your thing, KO also makes a beautiful range of matte colors.

Illamasqua also makes two really nice black polishes, Scorn (flat) and Boosh (glossy). I love their polish, it lasts a really long time and the color selection is also gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

