All The Greats Procrastinate: Easy Last Minute Halloween Costumes

Halloween costume procrastination isn’t only for us over-thinkers, it can happen to everyone. There’s a lot of pressure to get a good costume, make sure you go to the best party, and score the best candy. Halloween falls on a Saturday this year, which ups the Holiday pressure ante. And just because you’ve spent days or weeks over analyzing costume ideas doesn’t mean you’ll actually make any decisions. Which is why your Google search for “easy last minute Halloween costumes” landed you here. But there’s no need to fret, we got you boos covered!  Feast your eyes on our offerings for quick and dirty fixes to your last minute Halloween costume needs!

Witch

witchipoo oliverYou can’t go wrong with a witch for Halloween, and it’s one of the easiest DIY costumes to do. You really only need to get a hat, which are readily available at any costume store or Target/CVS type of place. You can go as simple or crazy as you’d like with this one as long as you have the basics: black dress, witch hat, and black boots/shoes. You can be a scary witch, glam witch, The Craft teen witch, sandwich (j/k), warlock, or a wicked witch. Use your own makeup or invest a few dollars in some Halloween options, keep it classic or zhuzh it up any way you’d like.

Pajama Party

 

Normally I’m not a fan of adult babies, but I’ll make an exception for Halloween. Onesie pajamas and some pigtails can solve your costume woes, plus you can stay cozy and warm all night.

Holly Golightly

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetWho doesn’t love Breakfast at Tiffany’s? And who doesn’t own a simple black dress? This one was SO fun to do! If you’re a brunette this one will be really easy to pull together. Almost all of the jewelry you see pictured is under 9 dollars, purchased either from Target, Charming Charlie’s or Forever21. That’s a bracelet I pinned up in my hair and it worked SO WELL! The top bun is easy to do as well. I don’t have the longest hair right now, so I gather the most I can on the top of my head and the stuff that falls down towards my neck, I grab, twist and pin up the backside of my hair (towards the top, it stays put really well!) Next, I start to make a high pony but I only pull out just a bit of hair, enough to have a little bump. Then I wrap the remaining hair (there should be a lot) around the elastic of the pony tail and pin, pin, pin! It’s easy to do and really easy to manipulate. The wine isn’t part of the costume…it’s just a part of my life costume.

Old Lady Emoji

Love them or hate them, emojis are a part of our lives now. And while you can go out and buy an emoji costume or a poop hat, you can also make your own emoji magic at home without breaking a sweat. One of the easiest is the old lady emoji, all you need is baby powder and a hair clip/tie. Put your hair up into a bun and sprinkle powder into your hair to make it look gray. Boom. Emoji realness in less than 60 seconds. I know Grandma Emojina doesn’t wear glasses, but I wanted to add them in for flair. Don’t forget to put down a towel before you sprinkle on the powder, my bathroom still looks like a cocaine snowglobe.

Masks

Easy as 1-2-3, these masks are the ultimate last minute costume fix. I got all of masks in that photo at the .99 Cent Store – get this – my local store has all Halloween items on sale for buy one get one free. There are dozens to choose from: cutesy, scary, dramatic, creepy, and crazy. You can pair the mask with a recycled costume to complete your look. No muss, no fuss, and can be done for as low as $1!

Dead/Zombie Anything

zombie librarianI went for the “dead/zombie ________” a few years ago when faced with a time crunch and last minute party invite. I threw on a dress that I wasn’t crazy about, put my hair up in a disheveled up-do, added on some smeared makeup, and some fake glasses and was reborn as Edwina, zombie librarian. I think I even had some old books to carry around as props but ditched them almost immediately. Edwina was more interested in holding cocktails than overdue books. This is another good way to recycle an old costume – take just about any costume, add some fake blood and practice your best moans and groans.

Josie & The Pussycats

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetDo you own a leather jacket? Maybe a fun rock n’ roll skirt? Bright pink 80’s lipstick? If you answered YES to any of these, Josie and the Pussycats would be a SNAP! I threw on this leather jacket, tossed my hair back in a ponytail, put on my pink lips and voila … twas the cat’s meow. Leopard or pleather style leggings would work REALLY well and if you know any drummers you could borrow a pair of sticks. This would be a GREAT last minute group costume and way fun to do with your gal pals!

Ghost

 

A timeless classic, the old bed sheet ghost! Slip an old flat sheet over your head and cut out some eye holes for your peepers, and you’re good to go. Go for basic white or switch it up with a fun pattern, jazz up your death shroud with a nice brooch or a jaunty beret. Death shouldn’t limit your fashion choices. Cutting out eyes does mean ruining the sheet, but you can use something old that you’ve been meaning to throw out or pick up a cheapie solo sheet at Target or Big Lots.

Self Portrait

 

In a real pinch, grab a spare picture frame and go as a self-portrait! I went to a Halloween party a few years ago and someone came as a Van Gogh self portrait, it was pretty genius. If you aren’t able to recreate a classic painting, just do yourself up however you’d like and grab that frame. Just be ready for everyone to ask you to pose with them all night.

Wednesday Addams The pint sized queen of Halloween is Wednesday Addams. Ms. Addams is such an easy costume, all you need is a Peter Pan collar dress, braids, and a slight sneer. If you’ve got a partner in crime, maybe you can convince them to dress up as Pugsly! All they’d need is a striped shirt and a pair of black shorts. Ta-da!

Deer/Fawn

Oh, deer! I thought this one would be a disaster, but it was surprisingly easy and fun to do. The only things I needed to buy were two jumbo eye pencils from NYX, in Milk and Black Bean. Everything else I already had in my bag of tricks – it was basically just my regular foundation, powder, and bronzer. You can find oodles of deer/fawn makeup tutorials which range from super simple to dramatic, take your pick! I didn’t even watch a video, I just searched images and tried to recreate it as best I could. You can add in some ears, but I’ve seen lots of the tutorials use floral crowns (available at drug stores, craft stores, or beauty supply shops) or even nicely arranged branches.

Quick (And SUPER CUTE!) Animal Costumes!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
If you have animal prints in your wardrobe.  Bust them out! 

Cute animal costumes are a snap to pull together last minute! Animal ears are pretty much everywhere you’ll find Halloween costumes and they are really inexpensive, I paid only 6 dollars at Target for these super cute studded cat ears! Depending on the animal ears you choose (fox, cat, giraffe, zebra etc) toss on your best neutrals  you’ve got yourself a great last minute costume! If you have any animal print or furry type collars or sweaters, bust them out, they will definitely add that next level! You can also spice it up with some face paint or just use a black eye liner pencil like I did. This one was Elf and it was a dollar. Stawp it.

Stay tuned for more Halloween themed fun on Fleek Week!

Leave a Reply

