Beauty School Drop Out: Katy Tries Fall Make-Up looks!

These “Beauty School Drop Out” posts are becoming some of my favorites. I’m falling in love with pushing myself to try new looks and techniques. I’ve found victory in the simplest of eye shadow application and for that I am so thankful for you guys as an audience!

And as the fall season seems to echo in these feelings of thanks, I decided that trying out some Fall Makeup Looks would be the next perfect “BSDO” Here are the looks I’m trying to recreate: Bold Lip, Smokey and Natural.

fall-298f6d5d6448f0df798d8ee99e5f806cb90c5650457c5a8ad8225c03a0235c495

It seems it’s all about deep rich lip colors, dark browns, blacks and golden rich hues. I used a lot of my inexpensive make up to try out these looks. I tend to find something I want to try and purchase a cheaper product at first to get my feet wet. Then once I’m comfortable I dive into the Stila, the Smashbox and the Kat Von D’s of the world. So don’t be alarmed if you see a lot of E.L.F. cosmetics and drugstore brands. I find they are great for test runs and I’ll go to the goods once I’ve mastered the techniques. So let’s see how I did!

  1. Plum crazy.

The first look I tried was the emphasis on a deep rich plum lip! When I searched for “Fall Make Up looks”, this was the most common image I could find. A girl with gorgeous deep plum  lips and an over all golden hue to the rest of her face.  The golden shimmer on the eyes is a favorite of this look!Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

What I used: 

Foundation: Too Faced: Born this way – “Nude”

Lips: Sephora Lipstick in “Crush”

Eyes: E.L.F. eye shadow pallet in “Golden Goddess”,  E.L.F. mineral eye shadow in “Celebrity” and Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in “Brownish Black”

Liner: Sephora Liquid Waterproof Liner in “Black Lace”

 

2. Smoke and Mirrors, Kimmy. “Two things gay men love”- Titus Andromedon. 

The second look I tried was a dark, smokier eye with a not quite as dark fall colored lip. A bit of the reverse from the first look, with the intensity focused on the eyes rather than the lips.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_5682

What I used:

Foundation – Too Faced: Born This Way in “Nude”

Eyebrows: Anastasia’s Brow Powder Duo in “Dark Brown”

Lips: Sephora Lipstick in “Oh, Oh”

Eyeliner: E.L.F. eye liner pencil in “Black”

Eye Shadow: E.L.F. Duo eye shadow in “Black Licorice”

Mascara: Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in “Brownish Black”

 

3. Au Naturale. 

The third and final look was a more natural and definitely lighter look! I left my eyes light, no black liner.  I did add a very nice nude shadow to my lids. I kept my lips really soft with a light mauve natural matte lipstick. Added a little blush to my cheeks to give myself a glow and a little bit of light gold glitter eye shadow to keep the fall theme alive on the tops of my cheek bones and even under my eyes (lightly!) I also lightened up on my eyebrows and brush the hairs upwards and towards each other —> <— making it all seem a bit more “natural”. Planned out and make up covered “natural” of course.

IMG_5690

What I used: 

Foundation: Too Faced: Born This Way in Nude

Eyebrows: Anastasia’s Brow Powder Duo in “Dark Brown”

Eyes: E.L.F. eye shadow pallet in “Golden Goddess” and Maybelline Great Lash Mascara in “Brownish Black”

Lips: E.L.F. matte lip color in “Tea Rose”

Cheeks: Elf Contouring and Bronzing Powder in “Antigua”

***plus that shimmering gold E.L.F. mineral eye shadow in gold.***

I’m honestly floored at how many E.L.F.products I used to complete these looks. I don’t wear ANY E.L.F. products on a daily basis. I usually buy them for fun and cheap thrills on my “let’s wander around Target aimlessly” trips. I  wear my Born This Way, Sephora Liner and Urban Decay lipstick for my everyday. Yet as you can see these inexpensive E.L.F. products can be a REALLY fun way to try out a new look! A look you might otherwise have been too afraid of wasting your more expensive products on. If you end up loving it, you can go and purchase what you need from your beloved and trusted brands later.

So that about does it, my beauty fumbles through some fun fall looks! I left out the part where I spilled half the container of glittering eye shadow all over the counter, myself and my phone. It’s just as well.

 

So go forth and try out some of these new looks on these gorgeous fall days! Plus, the holidays are fast approaching…Wow those in-laws. Slay those friends. Stun those Turkey Day Cuties. Happy Makeup-ing! ❤ 

 

One thought on “Beauty School Drop Out: Katy Tries Fall Make-Up looks!

Leave a Reply

