Send Nudes… Lipsticks, Ya Pervs!

 

I saw this nude lip kit at Sephora earlier this month and knew I had to have it. I’d been wanting to try some nude shades but didn’t want to commit to buying a full size tube of anything too pricey, and this was perfect. I went back to pick it up and it was, of course, sold out. As luck would have it, I found it at a Sephora in Las Vegas just this past weekend. I snatched it up right away and knew I’d be sending Katy some nudes all weekend.

Nude lips can be a little tricky for some skin tones, as my gorgeous friend Marie put it:

Screenshot 2016-03-28 23.36.56

Screenshot 2016-03-28 21.13.13.png

My skin is a medium olive-ish tone, and it always seems to be stuck somewhere in between all shades of makeup. I’m either the darkest end of light, or the lighter side of medium and it seems like the nude shades available are all made for fair/light skin. It makes it especially difficult when the shades are always shown on a model with fair skin (ahem, beauty industry, please take note). The color will look completely different on us olive and dark skinned ladies, and we’re left $20 poorer with a lipstick that will be tossed into the back of a make up organizer (or given to your mom).

Anyhoo, let’s see what Sephora’s nude kit has to offer, shall we?

img_8764

Bottom to top: Laura Mercier Milky Way, Marc Jacobs Prim(rose), Nars Dolce Vita, Nudestix Whisper, and Tarte Namaste.

Let me apologize now for the terrible bathroom lighting. My Vegas vacation left me with zero time to get proper photos in natural light and I didn’t want to filter these and misrepresent any of the colors. The florescent lights washed my skin tone out a bit, but the lipsticks all came across pretty accurately. But as you can see, some of the colors look much different from the swatches on my arm in the photo above.

 

This basically looked like lip gloss on me… very nice gloss, but nothing special. It’s a bit too shimmery for my taste but mom is going to love it.

 My favorite from the box! The Marc Jacobs pencil is creamy and can be worn alone, which I love. It’s a rosier nude, which looks much more flattering on my skin tone and would be the one item in the kit I’d buy in its full size.

 

I also liked Nars’ Dolce Vita, another slightly rosy nude shade. It’s very sheer with just a little shimmer and I’d rock this with a lip pencil or on a day when I wanted to skip bright or heavy lip color.

 

The worst, I’m actually laughing at how this made me look exactly like a toe with lashes. It just made my lips totally disappear and I can’t think of when I’d ever want that. However, its saving grace is that it’s a lip and cheek pencil. And as awful as it looked on my lips, it worked pretty well as cheek color.

I loooooove Tarte Tarteist Lip Paint, I’ve already bought two of the shades and matching pencils. I liked this shade, it would look cool with some retro 60s makeup. Mixed with a darker pencil, it could be something I’d wear day to day.

I picked two shades to try with a darker nude pencil, Smashbox Always Sharp lip pencil in Nude Medium. I wanted to try two different finishes (creamy and matte) with a pencil or another shade of lip color. On my top lip I have the Nars Dolce Vita, and on the bottom is Tarte Namaste. I think most nudes need a little customizing and look best blended with a pencil or another color.

If you’ve been wanting to experiment with nude lips, one of these kits is a good way to try a bunch of shades/brands/finishes. Team with with your BFF and share the cost, then have fun arm wrestling over who gets to keep which lipstick.

Leave a Reply

