Lipstick Marathon: Jeffree Star Liquid Lipstick

 

This past week Jeffree Star made some lipstick waves after he publicly called out Kylie Jenner’s Lip Kit brushes as being “unacceptable” (something I actually heard/read about from a few other sources as well). Jeffree Star should know what he’s talking about, having his own popular line of lipsticks. So I thought, let’s have some fun and put his to the test.

Right off the bat, I have to admit my bias for Jeffree Star’s lipsticks ($18). The names alone are enough to win anyone over: Redrum, Drug Lord, Dirty Money, and Masochist just to name a few. I mean…

 

I’m trying out Unicorn Blood, because of course I am.

With objectivity thrown out the window (my research methods professors just died a little inside), I will be faithful in documenting how well the lipstick does all day WITHOUT REAPPLYING. Do you know how crazy that is for someone with lipstick OCD?!

   Okay, taking some deep breaths and just going to dive in lips first.

This is immediately after applying at about 7:30 a.m., I did apply a lip primer, but other than that no extra tricks or wizardry. Please don’t judge my mustache, Frida Kahlo rocked it and so can I (and my waxing appointment isn’t until later this week).

 

I never thought Jeffree Star was throwing shade at Kylie, it seemed more like a legitimate “WTF, girl?” critique about the quality of the product she’s putting out there. Point to Jeffree, because his brush is one of the best I’ve ever tried. It’s not a brush, but rather a soft plush applicator, which makes more sense for a liquid lipstick. Those stray brush bristles are going to make application sloppy (in my opinion). It’s difficult to see in the photo above, but there’s also a slight curve to the applicator and that makes all the difference in the world. It let’s you apply the lipstick in one even swoop on your lips instead of dabbing or going back over it repeatedly.

  
Fast forward about an hour to 8:30, when I arrived early (aka on time) for work and decided to take more selfies because the lighting was so good. Lipstick still looks flawless, as not a crumb or drop of food or drink has made it past my lips.

 
At this point I realized I could use Snapchat to time stamp these photos so I can keep track of their order. By this time I’d chugged a protein shake and had a granola bar, which is basically like a candy bar but whatever.

Finally some signs of wear, after a string cheese snack, quite a few sips of water, and endless work phone calls. The area that seems to have taken the biggest hit is the inside bottom lip, but otherwise that lipstick is holding on like Wilson Phillips.

hold on.gif

Post lunch, my lipstick anxiety is setting in. I am desperate to reapply, but I’m holding out for 5pm. The lipstick actually looks okay, especially if I keep my mouth closed. But the fact that I can see it fading and bare lip in some areas is sending me into high blinkies overdrive.

 

Final check-in of the day, I’m excited to see the results but also dying to freshen it up – no matter what it looks like.

image1.jpg

I did it! Made it through the entire work day without reapplying! Color me impressed, Jeffree Star. I cannot believe this lipstick lasted an entire day, that has never happened, and I’ve been around the liquid lipstick block. The colors might be a little edgier than what you’d normally go for, but if you’re looking to add some razzle dazzle to your lipstick routine, these are in it for the long haul and are definitely worth the $18 price.

Leave a Reply

